2025 Fully Funded Australia Awards Scholarship for Study in Australia.

Apr 3, 2024

The Australia Awards scholarships represent prestigious international accolades extended by the Australian Government to emerging leaders from developing nations. These awards offer recipients the opportunity to engage in study and research endeavors, enabling them to cultivate the necessary skills and knowledge to instigate positive change and foster lasting connections with Australia.

Applicants undergo a rigorous evaluation process, with assessments based on their professional and personal attributes, academic proficiency, and, notably, their capacity to effect meaningful change in addressing development challenges within eligible countries. Encouragement is particularly extended to women, individuals with disabilities, and other marginalized groups to apply, fostering inclusivity and diversity within the program.

Priority fields of study for Australia Awards scholarships encompass a diverse array of disciplines, ranging from sustainable development, healthcare, and education to governance, engineering, and technology. These fields are strategically chosen to address pressing global challenges and contribute to the advancement of socioeconomic development in partner countries. Through these scholarships, the Australian Government aims to empower future leaders with the knowledge and expertise necessary to drive sustainable progress and make a lasting impact within their communities and beyond.

The priority areas of study for eligible African countries in this application round are:

  • Climate change
  • Agriculture and food security
  • Mining and energy
  • Foreign policy and international security
  • Gender, disability, and social inclusion.

Level of study Australia Awards scholarships provide citizens of eligible African countries with the opportunity to obtain a Master’s qualification at an Australian tertiary institution. Awards will be offered for commencement in 2025.

Eligibility Requirements For The Australia Awards Scholarship

In addition to the general eligibility requirements, candidates from eligible African countries must also meet the following conditions:

  • Be a minimum of 25 years of age on 1 February 2025.
  • At minimum, have 5 years of post-graduate work experience, working in a field relative to their field of study.
  • Be a citizen of Algeria, Benin, Botswana, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia or Zimbabwe and be residing in and applying for the scholarship from their country of citizenship, unless working for an African Regional Organisation or working on diplomatic mission for their home country.
  • Not already hold or be undertaking a Master’s degree or equivalent (equivalent to a Master’s degree in home country).
  • Already hold an undergraduate degree (equivalent to an Australian undergraduate degree).
  • Not have previously received a long-term Australia Award.
  • Meet the minimum English language proficiency of at least 6.5 in IELTS with no band less than 6.0 (an internet based TOEFL score of at least 84, with a minimum of 21 in all subtests, or PTE Academic overall score of 58 with no communicative skill score less than 50). Scores must be valid on 1 January 2025. (Excluding candidates if their first language is English and they have undertaken their education in English).

Australia Awards benefits

Australia Awards scholarships are offered for the minimum period necessary for the individual to complete the academic program specified by the Australian education institution, including any preparatory training. Scholarship recipients will receive the following:

  • return air travel
  • a one-off establishment allowance on arrival
  • full tuition fees
  • contribution to living expenses
  • introductory academic program
  • overseas student health cover for the duration of the scholarship
  • supplementary academic support
  • fieldwork allowance for research students and master by coursework which has a compulsory fieldwork component.

Application dates For study commencing in Australia in 2025:

  • Opening date: 1 February 2024
  • Closing date: 30 April 2024 (11:59PM AEST)
  • Applications and/or supporting documents received after the closing date will not be considered.
  • The application process Online applications All applications must be lodged online through OASIS at https://oasis.dfat.gov.au/

Application Deadline: 30 April 2024 (11:59PM AEST)

For More Information,

Visit the Official Website